Pilot Grant Projects

The purpose of the pilot grant is to encourage new cross-disciplinary collaborations that focus on advancing research in infection, inflammation, and immunity in children. Learn about all i4Kids Pilot Grant Awardees below. If you are interested in applying for an i4Kids Pilot Grant, please check back in Winter 2022.

2022 Pilot Grant Awardees

Early-life Exposure to Inorganic Arsenic Primes the Offspring to Increased Airway Hyperresponsiveness: Insights from Integrative Analysis of Epigenome
Wan-Yee Tang, PhD (Department: Environmental and Occupational Health)
Dhivyaa Rajasundaram, PhD (Department: Pediatrics)

Mechanisms of Maternal Antibody Protection in Human Milk and Blood against SARS-CoV2 in Young Children
Anne-Marie Rick, MD, MPH, PhD  (Department: Pediatrics, Division: General Academic Pediatrics)
Ernesto Marques, MD, PhD (Department: Infectious Diseases and Microbiology)

2021 Pilot Grant Awardees 

KGF to reduce bladder injury and susceptibility to urinary tract infection in neuropathic bladders
Catherine Forster, MD MS (Department: Pediatrics, Division: Pediatric Hospital Medicine)
Carlton Bates, MD (Department: Pediatrics, Division: Nephrology)

FSTL-1 Regulation of Hematopoietic Stem Cell Self-Renewal
Brian Campfield, MD (Department: Pediatrics, Division: Infectious Diseases) 
Craig Byersdorfer, MD PhD (Department: Pediatrics, Division: Blood and Marrow Transplantation and Cellular Therapies) 

Investigation of EVD68 Pathogenesis in the Human Spinal Cord
Megan Culler Freeman, MD PhD (Department: Pediatrics, Division: Infectious Diseases)
With generous support from the Richard King Mellon Foundation.

2020 Pilot Grant Awardees 

Emrullah Korkmaz, PhD (Department: Dermatology & Bioengineering) 
Deborah Albright, MD (Department: Pediatrics, Division: Allergy & Immunology) 
Tina Sumpter, PhD (Derpartment: Dermatology, Division: Immunology)
Wei Chen, PhD (Department: Pediatrics, Division: Pulmonology)
Wei Gao, PhD (Department: Electrical and Computer Engineering) 
Erick Forno, MD MPH (Department: Pediatrics, Division: Pulmonary Medicine)
Rheinhard Hinterleiter, PhD (Department: Immunology)
Terence Dermody, MD (Department: Pediatrics, Division: Infectious Diseases)
Thomas Hooven, MD (Department: Pediatrics, Division: Neonatology / Newborn Medicine)  
David Aronoff, MD (Department: Medicine, Division: Infectious Diseases)